About Me

My photo
Cork, Ireland
An Irish based alternative music blog. Music news, gigs, live reviews, album reviews... You'll find them here. If you want anything featured or removed, please shout. I hope you'll discover something new to love on this little experiment of mine. Currently editing the Music Section of the UCC Express and contributing to Motley magazine on campus, as well as writing for PopCultureMonster and 4FortyFour. Always looking for new projects so please get in touch if interested. Thanks for reading.

Friday, February 4, 2011

Digital Socket Awards: the Results

Last night was the culmination of months of work by the likes of Peter (2UIBestow), Naomi (Harmless Noise), Aiden (Goldenplec) and Ronan (SwearImNotPaul) - credit to these guys in particular who worked tirelessly to get everything running to plan.

Disappointingly I couldn't make the trip to Dublin, but early reports are pretty favourable. Ham Sandwich (they being the oh-so secret special guests), Groom and Meljoann provided the entertainment, while the awards showered the cream of Irish music with the recognition they more than deserve.

Adebisi Shank cleaned up, taking away Best Design, Best Rock & Alternative and the coveted Album of the Year prize. The Cast of Cheers, too, walked away with prizes bulging - Best Indie and Best Newcomer, as well as the RTE Special Award of Outstanding Contribution to Music 2010.

Congrats to all the winners, all of whom are listed below.

1. Best Design (Website, Artwork, Posters) - Adebisi Shank
2. Best Independent Label - Richter Collective
3. Best Video - Ambience Affair
4. Best Music Photography - Loreana Rushe
5. Best Radio Show - Donal Dineen
6. Best Pop - Cathy Davey
7. Best Folk - Villagers
8. Best Rock and Alternative - Adebisi Shank
9. Best Electronic & Hip Hop - Solar Bears
10. Best Indie - The Cast of Cheers
11. Best EP - And So I Watch You From Afar
12. Best Newcomer - The Cast of Cheers
13. Song of the Year - Villagers - The Meaning of the Ritual
14. Album of the Year - Adebisi Shank

I'm particularly pleased with the recognition that Solar Bears got, having been overlooked for the Choice Music Prize, though all are more than worthy of their prizes.

Here's to 2011!

No comments:

Post a Comment